featured 1 image

Board of Commissioners Home Page

Guilford County is governed by a nine member Board of Commissioners, elected by district and at-large to serve four-year terms.  Commissioners’ terms are staggered and general elections are held in November of even number years.  In December of each year the Board elects a Chairman and Vice Chairman to serve for the ensuing year. The Commissioners are responsible for adopting the annual budget and establishment of the property tax rate. They adopt ordinances or local laws that govern issues such as development, noise, and animal control.  Commissioners are also responsible for appointing volunteers to serve on various advisory Boards and Commissions

The Board of Commissioners meet the first and third Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Commissioners’ Meeting Room located on the second floor of the Old Courthouse, 301 W. Market St., Greensboro. Meeting days and locations may be adjusted due to holidays or additional meetings/work sessions may be added so please check the annual meeting schedule for updates. All meetings are open to the public.

© 2014 Guilford County Government - All Rights Reserved

County Footer Image