Instructions for Obtaining a Marriage License in Guilford County, North Carolina
Where to Apply
Register of Deeds at the BB&T Building 201, West Market Street, 2nd Floor, Greensboro, NC 27402 (336) 641-7556 or Register of Deeds, 325 East Russell Avenue, Room 155 , High Point, NC 27261 (336) 641-6935.
How to Apply
Both parties should appear at the Register of Deeds, if possible (NCGS 51.8.2). If an applicant for a marriage license is over 18 years of age and is unable to appear in person, the other party to the planned marriage must appear in person on behalf of the applicant and submit a sworn and notarized affidavit in lieu of the absent applicant's personal appearance. Forms are available online or in our office. Click here to download forms. No blood test or physical is required.
When to Apply
Office hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday, except legal holidays; however, applications will not be accepted after 4:30 pm to allow for processing. There is no waiting period in North Carolina. The license is good immediately and up to sixty (60) days from date of issue.
Cost of License
The license is $60.00. An optional certificate of marriage keepsake is available for $1.00, only at the time the marriage license is issued.
What to do with the License
You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. The officiant must complete the bottom portion of both copies then return both copies to the Register of Deeds office. An envelope is provided to return the license. The license must be returned within ten (10) days after the ceremony (NCGS 51.7). One copy is retained in the Register of Deeds office, and the other copy is sent to the NC Vital Records Division in Raleigh. The license may be used in any county in North Carolina. The license must be returned to the County in which it was issued.
Magistrates are the only judicial officials allowed to perform marriage ceremonies.
Civil Magistrates are located in the Greensboro Courthouse at 201 S. Eugene St. Suite 214. They preside over marriages Monday through Friday between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm. Once you have obtained your marriage license from the Register of Deeds, you may call 336-412-7855 for an appointment.
Warrant Issuing Magistrates are located in the Guilford County Sheriff’s Department at 201 S. Edgeworth St in Greensboro. They preside over marriages Monday through Friday between 5:00 pm and 8:00 pm. On the weekends and holidays, Magistrates perform the ceremonies between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm.
Warrant Issuing Magistrates are located in the High Point Courthouse at 505 E. Green Drive in High Point. They officiate marriages 24 hours per day, 7 days per week.
The Warrant Issuing Magistrates in Greensboro and High Point have other duties and have been instructed to marry people based on the order in which people arrive at the Magistrate's Office.
The fee for a Magistrate to officiate a marriage ceremony is $20.
Social Security Number
Per North Carolina law, all applicants must provide their Social Security number. If ineligible for a Social Security Number, an affidavit must be completed. Download the affidavit form.
Identification and proof-of-age is required of ALL persons. The following documents will be accepted: Age 18 to 21 *Certified copy of birth certificate and picture identification with name. Age 21 and over Picture identification with name and date of birth. Under 18 years of age Contact the office for Special License requirements and information regarding consenting parents.
Blood relatives, no closer kin than first cousins, can marry under the laws of the State of North Carolina. State law forbids the marriage of double first cousins. Applicants, male and female, must be at least 18-years-old to marry without parental consent. ALL applications under 18 should contact this office for additional information. Previously married individuals must know the month and year their last marriage ended. If you are divorced or marriage is annulled on the same day you apply for a marriage license, you must produce a certified copy of the divorce or annulment decree.
Checklist for Obtaining a Marriage License
1.Social security number
2.Proper identification (example: driver's license, state identification, passport)
3.* Certified copy of birth certificate, if under 21 years old.
4.If under 18, contact this office
5.Cost: $60.00 -- check or cash
6.Keepsake certificate -- $1.00, optional
* A certified birth certificate in English or a notarized translation must be provided. Please bring both the native and notarized translated copy.
Proof of your marriage is available upon request in person or by mail once the officiant returns your license. The officiant is required by law to return both copies of the license to the Register of Deeds within ten days after the ceremony (NCGS 51.7).
If you wish to obtain a copy of your marriage license, please complete the copy request form found in your marriage packet. If the form is misplaced, you may mail a request including the names of the bride and groom, date of marriage, along with a photo copy of your picture ID, to:
Guilford County Register of Deeds
PO Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27402
Include $10.00 for each certified full copy. You can pay with either cash, money order, or check.
Please also enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope for the return copies.
You may also obtain a copy in person by applying at either the Greensboro or High Point office.